I will get things done…

Thus far I have been with the AmeriCorps NCCC-FEMA Corps program for two and a half months; I have learned so many new ways to run team meetings as well as how many times you can say no before it becomes irrelevant.

About two months ago we were placed with teams (consisting of 9-12 motivated young people), my team was/is Spruce 6. Collectively I have had the opportunity to get to know all of my team mates and understand how to be a leader amongst them. There have been many challenges and also many triumphs. The team has adapted to many different personality types varying from extremely critical to passively positive. The team has also gained the knowledge, skills, and abilities to work effectively at a call center in which serves survivors of disasters. As a person on this team I have had the chance to watch all of my team mates grow as individuals and as people on a team within the past two months. I feel impressed daily and I am happy we will have a lot more time to grow together.

For the past month I have been struggling with being able to see small accomplishments as important, it has been simple to observe what the larger impact of my own work is, but not on a day by day or week by week basis. On average I have felt like there has been a limited connection between myself and the outcomes of work, this is something that I have decided will become my goal for the rest of round 1 in Hyattsville, Maryland. The AmeriCorps pledge reads: “faced with adversity, I will persevere” which to me, in this situation, means that I will not just sit there and allow myself to be pushed down by the work I am given, instead I will allow myself to see that there are successes in everyday. This is not to negate the self care aspect of venting and self loathing… as someone (whom I greatly respect) said “there is no venting without goal setting”. I will remember these two quotes when things at the calling center are particularly hard and when things seem to be going as slow.

Leave a Reply

